Bill seeking to expand coverage of MORE Power filed


A bill seeking to expand the franchise coverage of More Electric Power Corporation (MORE Power), Iloilo City’s sole power distributor, has been filed in Congress.

House Bill (HB) No. 10258 was filed by Representatives Braeden John Biron (Iloilo 4th District), Michael Gorriceta (Iloilo 2nd District) and Julienne Baronda (Iloilo City).

Specifically, the measure seeks to amend Republic Act No. 11212 or the MORE Power franchise law in order to expand its coverage to towns in the province's 2nd and 4th Districts.

The 2nd District is consist of the towns of Pavia, San Miguel, Santa, Barbara, Leganes, Leon, Alimodian, New Lucena, and Zarraga.

The 4th District is composed of the towns of Dumangas, Anilao, Banate, Barotac Nuevo, Dingle, Dueñas and San Enrique, and Passi City.

The move, according to Gorriceta, is “for the benefit of the consumers in the two districts."

He assured that Iloilo Electric Cooperative (ILECO I) and ILECO III, the current power distributors in the 2nd and 4th Districts, respectively, will be given the oppurtunity to air their sides.

Last year, the Razon-owned MORE Power took over Panay Electric Co. (PECO) after it secured a 25-year congressional franchise.IMT



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here